That certain something

Honest and unconventional. Since 2009.

We produce wines with character. Wines with rough edges. Handmade for individualists. For people who know what they want. Just like us. Our wine reflects who we are.

Welcome to Weinmanufaktur Clemens Strobl – in the wine region „Wagram“.

Our Work

A family winery. Uncomplicated and no slave to tradition.

Organic viticulture: sustainable and versatile. Mixed cropping over monoculture. Experimental and with curiosity. Wine makers with passion and enthusiasm. Hand-crafted wherever possible. Respect for nature. No chemistry and without irrigation. It is worth it to support nature and just to let it be. Vital and wild. No mass production, no purchased grapes. Just our own vineyards and us.

Terroir

The Wagram region. Prehistoric mountain range in the heart of Lower Austria.

Loam and loess, several metres in depth, Million-year-old tertiary gravel. A soil that acts like sponge; soft and fertile with outstanding water retention. Ex’site’ing diversity, outstanding terroir. The infamous Wagram and its impermeable mark on both the landscape and the wine. Mutual respect for both white and red wines. The promising region. Enjoyable and worth discovering.

Pfaffenberg: natural border between Kremstal and the Wachau.

It has „Wachau“ terroir. Prehistoric stone terraces, steep and harsh. Bedrock soil with pockets of less topsoil. 35-year-old vines, sun-kissed, enjoying the most beautiful view on the Danube.

Artisan

Hand-crafted sounds dirty – and it is.

Hand-picked, perfect grapes. No crushing, no pre-fermentation operations; without compromise.

„HANDMADE WINE“ by conviction.

That certain something

Inspiring winemakers, sophisticated wines with soul and depth.

Rich and supple. Fine and elegant. Our top priority is the purity of taste. Clean and fresh. No botrytis notes. No use of cultured aromatic yeasts. If the wine doesn’t rock our boat, we bin it. To challenge ourselves over playing it safe. That’s not always easy, but it’s worth it in the long term. Just like our work by hand.

Wine

Riesling Pfaffenberg Privat

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

A wine of vision. Grapes of highest ripeness, pressed carefully. Spontaneous fermentation in a 500-liter-barrel. Just pure and genuine Riesling.  Made for eternity.

Riesling Pfaffenberg

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Pfaffenberg – one of the best Riesling-vineyards in Austria. The wine – profound purity, no botrytis notes with great fruit and acidity. High maturing potential. Same terroir as the near wine region “Wachau”.  Typically Riesling, typically Pfaffenberg.

Grüner Veltliner Pfaffenberg

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Elegant, mineral, profound purity. No botrytis notes. Spontaneous fermentation and long contact on the fine lee. Same terroir as the near wine region “Wachau”. Typically Grüner Veltliner, typically Pfaffenberg.

Pinot Noir Hengstberg

Vintage: 2013
Volume: 0.75 l

The Riesling’s neighbour. From Rosenberg. Sunny days and cool nights. South-east facing, loess and red gravel. The perfect site for this grape diva. Elegant and fine. The distinctive characters derive from variety, unique site and love to experiment.  Stored in burgundy barrique. A Pinot Noir with a francophile touch from Wagram.

Riesling Rosenberg

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Exotic. Wagram Riesling. The site is situated at the edge of a forest, which gives it cool nights. Young vineyard, high plateau. Red tertiary gravel, high mineral content. Hints of the charming taste of Wagram. Supple, harmonious, good tension. Tropical characters. Invigorating and easy-drinking.

Grüner Veltliner Donauschotter

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

A highly sophisticated Grüner Veltliner. The first selection of grapes hand-picked from one of the best vineyard sites. Up to 25-year-old vineyards, south-east orientation, deep loess and “Danube”gravel. Fine lees, stainless steel tank and large oak cask. Fresh and elegant with potential.

 

Grüner Veltliner Schreckenberg

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

A Grüner Veltliner with the richness of Kamptal and the soul of Wagram. 25-year-old vineyards, south-facing, nearby forest. Cool, mineral. Loam, loess and Danube gravel soils. Steel tank and used barrique barrels. Tends to hide when it gets too cold.

Grüner Veltliner Losling

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Textbook style Wagram wine. Typical characters of a Wagram wine with signature “schmelz” from loam and loess. South-facing vineyard at 300 metres above sea level. The filet site within the Spiegel vineyard. This is reflected in the bottle and label design. The original vineyard description: Losling from loess.

Rosé Cuvée Donauschotter

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Zweigelt and Pinot Noir from sought-after vineyard sites. Hand-picked grapes specifically for the production of Rosé. A great wine to drink all year round from the best grapes. Sensual aromas, salty freshness, pure joy of life. Crisp and invigorating.

 

Rosé Cuvée Donauschotter

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Grüner Veltliner Donauschotter

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Grüner Veltliner Schreckenberg

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Grüner Veltliner Losling

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Riesling Rosenberg

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Pinot Noir Hengstberg

Vintage: 2013
Volume: 0.75 l

Grüner Veltliner Pfaffenberg

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Riesling Pfaffenberg

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l

Riesling Pfaffenberg Privat

Vintage: 2015
Volume: 0.75 l
Logo

Das gewisse Etwas

Ehrlich und unkonventionell. Seit 2009.

Wir produzieren Weine mit Charakter. Weine mit Ecken und Kanten. Handmade für Individualisten. Für Menschen, die wissen, was sie wollen. Wie wir. Wie wir sind, ist unser Wein.

Willkommen bei der Weinmanufaktur Clemens Strobl am Wagram!

Philosophie

Ein Familienbetrieb. Unkompliziert und keiner Tradition verpflichtet.

Biologischer Weinbau: nachhaltig und vielfältig. Mischkultur statt Monokultur. Experimentierfreude und Neugierde. Winzer aus Leidenschaft und Begeisterung. Handarbeit, soweit es geht. Nachhaltigkeit und Respekt vor der Natur. Keine Chemie, keine künstliche Bewässerung. Die Natur unterstützen, einfach sein lassen. Lebendig und wild. Keine Massenproduktion, keine zugekauften Trauben. Nur unsere Weingärten und wir.

Terroir

Der Wagram. Urzeitlicher Höhenzug im Herzen Niederösterreichs.

Meterdicker Lehm und Löss, Millionen Jahre alter Tertiärschotter. Ein Boden wie ein Schwamm: weich, wasserspeichernd und fruchtbar. Lagen-hafte Vielfalt, spannende Terroirs. Die Wagramkante und ihr unverkennbarer Stempel: auf Landschaft und Weinen. Weißweine und Rotweine in Augenhöhe. Die Zukunftsregion. Genussreich und entdeckenswert.

Der Pfaffenberg. Grenze vom Kremstal zur Wachau.

Wachau-Terroir. Urzeitliche Steinterrassen, steil und rau. Boden aus Urgestein, vereinzelt Lössauflagen. 35 Jahre alte Rebstöcke, die den schönsten Ausblick auf die Donau genießen, geküsst von der Sonne.

Handwerk

Handarbeit – klingt schmutzig – ist es auch.

Händische Ernte, vollreife Trauben – kein Quetschen bei der Lese, keine vorzeitige Gärung, keine Kompromisse.

„HANDMADE WINE“ aus Überzeugung.

Das gewisse Etwas

Anspruchsvolle Winzer, anspruchsvoller Wein.

Seele und Tiefgang. Extraktreich und cremig. Finesse und Eleganz. Unser oberstes Ziel: der pure Geschmack. Unverfälscht. Ohne Botrytis. Ohne Aromahefe. Was uns nicht überzeugt, wird nicht verkauft. Kritisches Hinterfragen statt Nummer sicher. Ist unbequem, aber macht sich bezahlt. Wie unsere Handarbeit.

Weine

Riesling Pfaffenberg Privat

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Ein Wein mit Weitblick. Beste Selektionen hochreifer Trauben, schonend verarbeitet. In einem 500-Liter-Fass spontan vergoren. Riesling pur und unverfälscht. Gemacht für die Ewigkeit.

Riesling Pfaffenberg

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Pfaffenberg – eine der besten Riesling-Lagen Österreich’s. Der Wein – pur, botrytisfrei, mit spannendem Frucht- & Säurespiel. Langes Reifepotenzial. Gleiches Terroir wie die angrenzende Wachau. Typisch Riesling, typisch Pfaffenberg.

Grüner Veltliner Pfaffenberg

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Elegant, mineralisch, pur. Botrytisfrei. Spontanvergärung und langer Kontakt auf der Feinhefe inklusive. Gleiches Terroir wie die angrenzende Wachau. Typisch Grüner Veltliner, typisch Pfaffenberg.

Pinot Noir Hengstberg

Jahrgang: 2013
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Der Nachbar vom Riesling. Vom Rosenberg. Tagsüber die Sonne, nachts die Kühle. Südosthang, Löss und roter Schotter. Eine gute Lage für Diven. Eleganz und Finesse. Das Ergebnis von Rebsorte, Lage und unserer Experimentierfreude. Gereift in Burgunderfässern. Ein Pinot Noir mit frankophilem Touch vom Wagram.

Riesling Rosenberg

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Ein Exot: der Riesling vom Wagram. Gelegen am Waldrand, inhaliert er die Kühle der Nacht. Junge Anlage, Hochplateau. Roter Tertiärschotter, hohe Mineralität. Wagramschmelz im Unterton. Weich, balanciert, überraschend. Exotisches Geschmacksbild. Animierender Trinkfluss.

Grüner Veltliner Donauschotter

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Ein Grüner Veltliner mit hohem Anspruch. Erste Selektionen der besten Lagen. Bis zu 25 Jahre alte Weingärten, Südost-Ausrichtung, tiefgründiger Löss und Donauschotter. Im Holz und Stahltank gereift. Frisch und elegant mit Potenzial.

Grüner Veltliner Schreckenberg

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Ein Kamptaler mit Wagramer Seele. 25 Jahre alte Weingärten. Waldnähe, kühl, mineralisch. Lehm, Löss und teilweise Kies und Gestein. Gereift zum Teil im Stahltank und gebrauchte Barriquefässer. Macht sich rar, wenn’s ihm zu kalt wird.

Grüner Veltliner Losling

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Der Parade-Wagramer. Charakteristischer Wagramschmelz. Ausgeprägt durch Lehm und Löss. Südlage in knapp 300 Metern Seehöhe. Ein besonderes Fleckchen der Lage Spiegel. Widergespiegelt am Flaschendesign. Bezeichnet mit dem alten Lagennamen. Der Losling vom Löss.

Rosé Cuvée Donauschotter

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Zweigelt und Pinot Noir aus den besten Lagen. Bewusst für Rosé kultiviert. Ein Ganzjahreswein aus hochwertigem Traubenmaterial. Sinnliche Aromen, salzige Frische, pure Lebensfreude. Elegant und animierend.

Rosé Cuvée Donauschotter

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Grüner Veltliner Donauschotter

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Grüner Veltliner Schreckenberg

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Grüner Veltliner Losling

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Riesling Rosenberg

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Pinot Noir Hengstberg

Jahrgang: 2013
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Grüner Veltliner Pfaffenberg

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Riesling Pfaffenberg

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l

Riesling Pfaffenberg Privat

Jahrgang: 2015
Füllmenge: 0.75 l
Logo